Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now
Blog Entry

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Posted on: February 7, 2012 4:45 pm
Edited on: February 7, 2012 4:58 pm
 
Posted by Ben Golliver

Oops, we did it again.

The NBA has publicly admitted once again that one of its officials made an incorrect call on a game-deciding possession.

In a statement posted to NBA.com/official on Tuesday, the NBA acknowledged that referee Scott Foster made an "incorrect call" when he whistled Portland Trail Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge for a goaltending violation with six seconds remaining in regulation of a Monday night game against the Oklahoma City Thunder at the Rose Garden. Aldridge, who was defending Thunder All-Star forward Kevin Durant, blocked the shot into the backboard, but was still whistled for a violation, as Foster apparently thought he had pinned the ball on the glass.

Here's the league's statement.

With six seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, the Blazers' LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on a shot attempted by the Thunder's Kevin Durant (shown below). With the benefit of slow motion replay following the game, it has been determined that Aldridge made contact with the ball just before the ball hit the backboard. Therefore, this should have been ruled a good block and goaltending was the incorrect call. (As determined by the NBA's Competition Committee, referees may not use instant replay on goaltending calls.)

The basket pulled Oklahoma City even in regulation and the Thunder went on to win in overtime, 111-107.

Following the game, Blazers coach Nate McMillan disputed the call and told the media that he would send video of the play to the league office for review. 

Aldridge disputed the call and was upset that the referees did not offer him an explanation.

"They act kind of sensitive sometimes," Aldridge said when asked if the referees had given him any explanation of their call. "He just told me the call was done and walked away... I timed it perfect, I put it on the glass, it didn't hit the glass first. I figured it was a clean block. The ref who called it was the furthest one from the basket so that's pretty interesting."

Back on Jan. 21, the NBA admitted its referees blew a no-call on a fourth-quarter kick ball by Pacers guard George Hill, which helped push Indiana to a late win. The NBA also admitted this season that their referees blew a late no-call on a traveling violation by Miami Heat All-Star forward LeBron James.

Here's a video replay of the blown goaltending call during a game between the Portland Trail Blazers and Oklahoma City Thunder.


Comments

Since: Feb 10, 2012
Posted on: February 10, 2012 12:49 am
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Wow. Way to start a rumor. I was at the game. Up close even. Bad call. No debris. NBA had to make a public statement. ALSO... lousy? Tied game buddy in OT. That says good game to me. So nope, you got it wong on this one. 

I had to start an account just for this. Dang internet. 




Since: Apr 7, 2009
Posted on: February 8, 2012 12:15 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

I understand it's hard for refs to catch everything during these games, however there is no excuse to blow game changing calls....this one was close but it wasn't goal-tending...Kevin Love clearly and intentially fouled Lois Scola (before the head stomp, which they didn't do anything about as well) and there was a no call.  Come on guys get it together!

Maybe add a 4th ref??



eoodgood
Since: Feb 8, 2012
Posted on: February 8, 2012 11:03 am
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Feb 8, 2012
Posted on: February 8, 2012 10:03 am
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

politics and sports is run hand and hand,to the dude who said leave theroies out of it,it would be impossible,to do so,politics rules every thing,wake up


tallsarabrightm
Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 11:33 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 11:26 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Blown Call yes, but Racism no, unless of course you know the "white" referee is in fact a racist. Leave the political crap out of sports commentary.



Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 10:47 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Torqued- try and follow the subject of the article. The NBA office is apologizing for the official making a game deciding incorrect call. It's not about what could have happened if this or if that. The game was over after the block. Portland had the ball at mid court with 6 seconds going the other way. Game over. Discussing any other non call or poor play by Blazers in OT is moot and not what anyone else is contending but you.



Since: Nov 27, 2008
Posted on: February 7, 2012 10:20 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

No Doubt that this was a Racist call .... a white ref making a bad call against a black athlete. Or maybe he was Durant in his fantasy basketball league. This ref should be suspended with no pay . NBA needs to change its replay rules too. Let the best team win WITHOUT the Refs effecting the outcome with bad and non - exsistent calls. Give coachs challenges like the NFL.  Get the damm thing right.


Wayne Anthony


mixedsingle,com
Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 10:11 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Sep 19, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 9:54 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Did the refs make Portland play lousy in OT?  If the players would have stepped up and finished the game they might have won.  But instead, they got whipped in OT and their crowd embarrassed themselves by throwing debris on the court...classy.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com